Thoughts on the Norway Massacre

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

Anders Breivik knew exactly what he did and that is why he is crying.

Brevik

I watched Breivik’s PowerPoint presentation on his last YouTube video and read some of his 1,500 page manifesto. I have a friend, an U.S. Army veteran who fought in Afghanistan and Iraq, who shares some of Breivik’s views.  My veteran friend told me that after 9/11, when he first arrived to serve his first tour of duty, that before he embarked on his first mission, he and his fellow soldiers suspected and believed they were fighting Middle Easterners in the War of the End of the World and that they, as the Western coalition, were the soldiers of the apocalypse.

The atrocities committed in Norway last week—the bombing in Oslo and the executing of Norwegian teenagers on Utoya Island–might not be a revelation, nor present anything new. Hegel, philosopher of Western subjectivity par excellence, once wrote about the ethics of war and how there was a religious dimension to it,  that personal religiosity as a site of subjective identification provided an invisible branding upon the soul, and was a way for a subject to conceptualize the taking of sides; that is, a way to affirm identity.

So why is religion sometimes blamed in these kind of atrocities? Why is politics often blamed for these kind of atrocities? Why? Because, for people who don’t really want to think hard, it is really easy to do so.

At first, it is worth mentioning, some of the media thought the Oslo bombing was perpetrated by Islamic fundamentalists. They were wrong. After decades of studies and the active use of think-tanks, one would think that the “terrorism experts” would do a better job at ascertaining the facts on the ground, before they begin flapping their gums, accusing the wrong group or individual(s) for committing acts of evil.

That said, journalists and “terrorism experts” alike, as we know, wield catchy words, pseudo-functional academic constructs.  They need to get the story out as quickly as they can, as it is even unfolding, to be sure, but they are often not thinking about what they write, and instead, in subsequent articles or newcasts, offer additional commentary, where they pounce on certain ideas signified by certain words to better understand the situational and institutional forces that provoke them to exist.

Now they, the media, from what I understand, are quasi-psychoanalyzing the mind of the mass murderer behind the attacks in Norway.  Breivik was not an Islamic fundamentalist, after all; he was home-grown, a 32-year old Norwegian Islamophobe. Okay. So once the media realized this, they were quick to use constructions like “far-right extremist” or “Christian terrorist,” or “Christian fundamentalist,” or “Neo-Nazi,” even  “Euro-supremacist,” a term which sounds precise, but probably fails to capture the nature of the grandiose ideas which, like tentacles, circumnavigate the narcissistic idea Breivik has of himself as a revolutionary and European knight self-commissioned to protect the values of all of “Judeo-Christian civilization.”

Does Anders Behring Breivik have a messiah complex?  Perhaps.

Now, the media is perpetuating the Faustian sensationalism: they give platforms to even more experts, that is, psychiatrists, who might drive home the idea to the public that Breivik is mentally ill.

The fact Breivik wrotea  highly detailed, 1,500 page entho-political manifesto (that is littered with rigorous, though shoddy scholarship) is not going to be discussed in detail for the time being. The manifesto, rather, is being primarily discussed in the blogosphere. Bloggers, it seems are using the manifesto as a way to debate culture, religion, and politics, and for the most part are not strictly using it as evidence to determine the fact that no sane person would actually go to such lengths to execute mass carnage and also have a litany of lengthy, paralogical justifications for it. What I predict is going to happen is that they—the so-called experts, the psychiatrists—are going construe Breivik’s logical fallacies and political conclusions within his manifesto as delusions.

Albiet,there are almost no ways of being objective about Breivik’s mental state. There is no test to see if he has a chemical imbalance, and even then we would have essentially learned nothing about his crimes. All we know about Breivik right now is what he says, in speech or in writing, or what he did in Oslo and Utoya island.

We can use all kinds of terms to label Breivik politically and culturally, but let the language be clear:  what Breivik did was not insane; it was evil.

Evil how? In a metaphysical sense? Evil as in an essence intrinsic to Breivik’s nature? No. That is not what I mean. What I am saying is Breivik’s actions are acts of human evil.  Anything short of calling them evil and one is caught up meeting Breivik on the terms and language of his own manifesto, or on the terms and conditions of so-called experts. Some Europeans and European politicians, we must remember, agree with Breivik’s views. Can we make the argument that they are delusional or not? Do we even really need experts to understand what Breivik did? Are we so removed from a basic understanding of ethics that we have to bring in interpretations (like that of Stephan Moleneuyx, who suggests that this crime can be attributed Breivik’s childhood and was somehow was deprived of a real father), that we have to bring in scientific, biological, political language to understand his crimes?

The justification for killing teenagers of your own country because they support immigration and are hypocrites in one’s eyes, and are so-called “cultural Marxists” is not logical, rational, nor delusional. Breivik did not commit these crimes because he is insane (which is a legal term, not a medical diagnosis); Breivik, instead, will be retroactively dubbed “insane” by his lawyer based on not only the incident by but by inferring the nature of Breivik’s own self-understanding of his own political reality: that Islam as a cultural force is a direct threat to Europe.

There is nothing abnormal going on bio-chemically in Breivik’s brain that itself is the mechanism that caused his actions. Breiviks has moral agency. What he believes about Islam or about immigration or about Europe was in conjunction with what he set out to do.

The human race does not have an unchanged set of beliefs. New assumptions and beliefs always emerge in the context of present historical conditions. Physical sciences and social sciences rely heavily on interrogating the past, in order to update and understand the present. What is a mistake? An ethical failure? A moral failure? Something inherent in the rational framework for error and truth? Without knowing how cancerous tumors were treated in the past, we would not know how to treat cancerous tumors in the present.  History, however, is cyclical as much as it is linear. There are leaps/advances forward. There are repetitions. There are political revolutions and religious schisms that arise from the restructuring of or doing-away with an entire paradigm or belief system. It is the idea of culture that is the lie. It is he media which spreads the lie that is culture, and in so doing attempts to inform how society should see itself.

How a society sees itself as expounded upon and externalized through the media informs our new beliefs and the means through which those beliefs are actualized or expressed. We must ask ourselves some questions. Do we see ourselves as mentally ill? Do we see ourselves as racist? Do we secretly think Western Civilization is destined to forever be direct war with the Other? Are we ourselves accountable for the good and evil that we, as a species, commit on a daily basis or not? I don’t know how any but else feels about this, but I myself feel responsible for these crimes. Why? For indulging in the abyss of what they are. Consequently, beliefs do not necessarily cause mistakes. Beliefs, instead, are present retroactively as justifications and excuses of an self-prescribed behavior. Beliefs are often episodically experienced, randomly adhered to one moment, conveniently rejected in others. Beliefs are never fully abstract, nor are they purely concrete. Beliefs are never pure indicators of impure actions.

Breivik’s last posting on some  social network before he went on his mass murdering killing spree, was from John Stuart Mill, a proponent of classical liberalism—“one person with a belief is equal to the force of 100,000 who have only interests.”  Why does the mainstream media, and the people who believe in the flash non-fiction propaganda of the mainstream media seem more outraged by the political stance of a killer, that is, the motivation inside the mind of killer, in his manifesto or otherwise, than by the attacks themselves?  Do we really think we can fully, rationally comprehend an irrational act of hatred, an ethical abyss? Maybe, we do.

I think reflecting on the violence in Norway is a kind of magnifying glass: we can learn more about our selves in how we view this moral failure. Depending on how we view it, even if we choose to ignore it or escape from it as an existential fact, which many people do, it gives us a sense of what constitutes our identity.

The Norwegian killer might see himself as a member of the Knights Templar Europe. His heroes might very well be every medieval European ruler known for slaughtering lots of Muslims, but he is no mere Eurocentric who sees European identity as supreme. Breivik is a Eurocentric with grandiose ideas about himself, about himself affecting history, wars and cycles of wars, wherein some human lives mean next to nothing, and are hunt-able without remorse.

Comments
  1. Some genuinely nice stuff on this web site , I like it.

  2. I am forever thought about this, appreciate it for posting .

  3. ugg boots says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page
    yet again.

  4. chwilówki says:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog
    and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

  5. caffe verde says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with
    a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other
    than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I will certainly be
    back.

  6. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily, this web page is actually nice
    and the visitors are genuinely sharing good thoughts.

  7. group medical insurance

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this web site’s posts everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  8. caffè Verde says:

    Amazing issues here. I am very satisfied to
    look your post. Thank you so much and I’m having a look forward to contact you.

    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  9. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put
    this short article together. I once again find myself personally
    spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  10. Great stuff! im going to bookmark this to show my wife later

  11. I’m truly еnjoying the design and layout of your
    website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makeѕ it
    much more pleasant for me to come here and visit morе oftеn.
    Did you hire out a developer to crеate your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  12. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the finest blogs on the
    net. I’m going to recommend this web site!

  13. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and
    do so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thank you, quite great article.

  14. Charolette says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from
    some of the information you provide here. Please let me know
    if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

    • pavelrogov says:

      If you cite my blog or quote me then give credit to whom credit is due. Of course, you can quote me. the best thing you can do is suggest this blog on your blog so more people can read both of them.
      Spread the word about this blog, if possible. I love my readers and always write back.

      With much respect, Paul

    • pavelrogov says:

      If you quote me, cite me as the person who wrote it. No problem. ;)

  15. May I just say what a comfort to discover an individual who
    genuinely understands what they are talking
    about on the net. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More people must look at this and understand this side of
    your story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular because you most certainly possess the gift.

    • pavelrogov says:

      I do what I able to do. That is really all I can say about my work on this blog. I never envisioned that I would even have a blog. I write novels, poetry and short stories, too. Find me on Facebook and spread the word. Much respect, Paul

    • pavelrogov says:

      Thank you kindly. I appreciate your insight into my work. If inclined, spread a word about my page. ;)

  16. 照明器具 says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours nowadays, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s beautiful value enough for me. Personally,
    if all website owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the web will be much more helpful than ever before.

  17. Very soon this web page will be famous amid all blog viewers,
    due to it’s fastidious posts

  18. I do not even know how I ended up here, but
    I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are
    going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  19. pavelrogov says:

    Reblogged this on VISIONS AND DREAMS and commented:

    What Happens When One Kills for an Idea?

  20. pavelrogov says:

    Are you a robot or a real person? On the web it difficult to discern. Prove to me you are real and I will consider your offer gladly. PR

Leave a Reply

